Question: What Is NPA As Per RBI Norms?

What is standard asset as per RBI?

Standard Asset is one which does not disclose any problems and which does not carry more than normal risk attached to the business.

Such an asset should not be an NPA.


With effect from March 31, 2005 an asset would be classified as sub-standard if it remained NPA for a period less than or equal to 12 months..

What are prudential norms of RBI?

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) on April 17, 2020, announces that the Prudential Norms on Income Recognition, Asset Classification and Provisioning Pertaining to Advances issued to banks on deferment of date of commencement of commercial operations (DCCO) for projects in non-infrastructure and commercial real estate ( …

Which bank has the highest NPA?

State Bank of India (SBI)Among the major public sector banks, State Bank of India (SBI) had the highest amount of NPAs at over Rs 1.86 lakh crore followed by Punjab National Bank (Rs 57,630 crore), Bank of India (Rs 49,307 crore), Bank of Baroda (Rs 46,307 crore), Canara Bank (Rs 39,164 crore) and Union Bank of India (Rs 38,286 crore).

What are provisioning norms?

An import one among them is the Provisioning norms which is a part of RBI’s prudential regulation. What is provisioning? Under provisioning, banks have to set aside or provide funds to a prescribed percentage of their bad assets.

What happens if my loan becomes NPA?

The borrower’s account is classified as a non-performing asset (NPA) if the repayment is overdue by 90 days. In such cases, the lender has to first issue a 60-day notice to the defaulter. “If the borrower fails to repay within the notice period, the bank can go ahead with sale of assets.

What are NPA in banks?

Definition: A non performing asset (NPA) is a loan or advance for which the principal or interest payment remained overdue for a period of 90 days. Description: Banks are required to classify NPAs further into Substandard, Doubtful and Loss assets. 1.

What are 3 types of assets?

Types of assets: What are they and why are they important?Tangible vs intangible assets.Current vs fixed assets.Operating vs non-operating assets.

What is Gnpa ratio?

The net NPA (Net NPA = Gross NPAs – Provisions) divided by the total advances of a branch reflects the gross NPA ratio. It measures the overall quality of the bank’s loans. The lower the ratio, it is good for the bank, as it reflects that more loans are standard assets, which can be recovered on time.

What can be done to reduce NPA?

Ways to Reduce NPAsSARFAESI ACT, 2002. The SARFAESI empowers banks to deal with NPAs, without the involvement of court, through three alternatives: … Debt Recovery Tribunals. … Lok Adalats. … Compromise Settlement. … Credit Information Bureau.

What is NPA norms?

The 90-day non-performing asset (NPA) norm would exclude the moratorium period for such accounts, RBI Governor Shaktikanta Das said. … The accounts turn non-performing assets (NPAs) after 90 days of overdue in making payments. The accounts are classified as standard before the 90-day period.

How is NPA calculated?

Formula: Net non-performing assets = Gross NPAs – Provisions. Gross NPA Ratio is the ratio of total gross NPA to total advances (loans) of the bank. … Provision Coverage Ratio = Total provisions / Gross NPAs.

What is NPA and types of NPA?

NPA or Non Performing Asset is those kinds of loans or advances that are in default or in arrears. In other words, these are those kinds of loans wherein principal or interest amounts are late or have not been paid.

What is NPA in MSME?

India’s ailing banking sector could be facing another problem: non-performing assets (NPAs) in the micro, small and medium enterprises (MSME) sector. … In India, MSMEs, which include all firms with physical capital valued at less than ₹10 crore, employ millions and are considered an engine of growth.

What is moratorium period?

A moratorium period is basically a length of time during which you enjoy a holiday from your home loan EMIs. This means that you do not have to start repaying your home loan as soon as your loan gets disbursed to you. Instead you can avail an EMI holiday and begin paying EMIs after a break.

What is IRAC classification?

IRAC are rules that prescribe when a loan should be declared as a non-performing asset (NPA). Once a loan is an NPA, the RBI requires that any recovery should not be classified as income.